About AAUW

The mission of the American Association of University Women is to advance equity for women and girls through advocacy, education, philanthropy and research.

AAUW Puyallup Valley Branch supports this mission by partnering with AAUW and our local school districts to identify outstanding young women in the fields of STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Math) and to provide them with public recognition and reward for their achievements through the following programs:

Teck Treck

Teck Trek is a week-long science and math summer camp designed to develop interest, excitement, and self-confidence in middle school girls from our area who are interested in STEM: science, technology, engineering, or mathematics.  The goal is to encourage young women to continue with STEM studies in high school and hopefully advance into STEM careers.


High School Scholars

High School Scholars Project gives recognition to female High School Juniors from Bonney Lake, Chief Leschi, Emerald Ridge, Fife, Orting, Puyallup, Rogers and Sumner for outstanding achievement in science, technology, engineering and mathematics.  This year two senior girls will be honored with Gwen Fletcher Memorial Scholarships.  A reception will be held 7:00 pm May 19, 2022, at the Puyallup Activity Center to honor both the Junior Math and Science Awardees and our Senior Scholarship Awardees.

2022 Junior Scholars Recognized for Excellence in Math and Science

Junior Girls Honored for Excellence in Math & Science

 AAUW Gwen Fletcher Memorial Senior Scholarship

 Awardees for 2022


Previous Scholarship Awardees


Innovative Teaching Grant Awardees:

2020-2021 Innovative Teaching Grant. John Shula, a Digital Media teacher at Fife High School is the 2020-21 recipient of the Innovative Teaching Grant.  The Grant was used to purchase equipment to enable “vlogging,” or video blogging, a form of communication that engages an audience in a personal fashion (and for some individuals, can be financially lucrative).  The COVID Virus and virtual teaching has presented special challenges and delayed the start of this project.  We are looking forward to viewing Vlogs produced by the students at Fife High School.

Chief Leschi Schools will be the Innovative Teaching Grant recipient in 2022-2023. 

No Innovative Teaching Grant was awarded in 2021-2022 due to Covid 19′

Patty O’Malley Winner of the 2019-2020 Grant Pictured with AAUW Member Florence Vining